Ranking IPL Teams in terms of their batting lineup

Ranking IPL Teams in terms of their batting lineup

With just a few days left for the IPL to start, these are the teams ranked in terms of their batting.

#8 Kolkata Knight Riders

After losing Gautam Gambhir, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan and Shakib Al Hasan, there were big boots to fill.

They only have two experienced batsmen in their captain, Dinesh Karthik and their old warhorse Robin Uthappa. Lynn-sanity is injury prone and Andre Russell is still posing a niggle.

Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana have to live up to their expectations even though they are vastly inexperienced.

#7 Mumbai Indians

They will have to rely on their opening combo of Rohit Sharma and Evin Lewis. Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav have a lot to live up to.

The Pandya brothers are out of form but they will surely shake it off and perform for their team. Kieron Pollard is not the player he used to be but he can still play some big shots.

#6 Chennai Super Kings

The yellow army are returning after two years with a slightly weak team. Their opening combination would constantly be changing and not much is expected from the openers.

Suresh Raina will play the role of an anchor and will stay right till the end. MSD will bat higher up the order than usual which will give Kedar and Bravo the freedom to play their shots.

The No.4 spot is of concern and may be filled by Ambati Rayudu, Faf Du Plessis or ( in a close game ) MS Dhoni.

#5 Kings XI Punjab

They have a hard hitting opener in Aaron Finch and a like to like replacement in Chris Gayle.

KL Rahul, Karun Nair and Yuvraj Singh form the crux of the Indian batting lineup and they will have to anchor the innings.

Dave Miller and Marcus Stoinis will provide the finishing touches to take the team over the line at the end.

#4 Royal Challengers Bangalore

The misfiring superstars have tried concentrating on the bowling this season but the batting is not weak either.

Kohli, McCullum and AB De Villiers will have to fire in each game and also anchor. One of them needs to stay till the end to join De Grandhomme and Woakes in finishing the game.

#3 Sunrisers Hyderabad

The 2016 champions have been shaken up by the loss of David Warner but the batting lineup looks decent inspite of that.

Dhawan will open with Williamson now and Dhawan will have to provide a quick start as his partner will not do so.

Manish will have to anchor the innings with Williamson. Saha can be used as a floater. Shakib will finish off games with Yusuf Pathan and Deepak Hooda.

#2 Rajasthan Royals

The loss of Steve Smith may come as a blessing in disguise for the Rajasthan based franchise as it gives them the chance to play opener Da’arcy Short.

Short was the Man Of The Series in the Big Bash League scoring the most amount of runs in the history of the league. Rahul Tripathi performed well as an opener for Pune and is expected to do the same for RR.

Rahane will be the anchor and the calmness among hard hitters around him. Samson is expected to support Rahane and hit out or get out in the end.

Ben Stokes and Jos Butler will provide a world class finish to take the team over the line.

#1 Delhi Daredevils

The batting looks special this season for the Delhi Daredevils. Gambhir will open with the best opener in the format – Colin Munro. Rishabh and Iyer complement each other’s batting and make for a handy No.3 and 4.

Maxwell and Morris, being the hard hitters that they are, will be the match-winners both with the bat and ball.