IPL Squads Review – Part 3

IPL Squads Review – Part 3

In this blog, I am going to be reviewing the squads of the Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals. Till now, I have reviewed RR, KXIP, SRH and MI. Now it is the turn of the ‘misfiring superstars’ and the ‘perennial underachievers’. I’m also going to be giving what I think would be their best playing eleven.

Royal Challengers Bangalore – E Sala Cup Naamde?

Bangalore is a side that has always had a lot of star players. While this guarantees that they have a huge fanbase, it does not guarantee that they win. RCB is one of the three teams who have never won an IPL trophy, and it is definitely the strongest of those three. They have a strong captain, and one of the best batsmen in the world in Virat Kohli. AB De Villiers is still going strong even after retiring from international cricket. Their batting has also been beefed up by new West Indian big-hitter and opener Shimron Hetmeyer. It will be interesting to see how they use him this year. Here’s their predicted playing eleven.

  1. Shimron Hetmeyer*
  2. Parthiv Patel (wk)
  3. Virat Kohli (c)
  4. AB De Villiers*
  5. Marcus Stoinis
  6. Shivam Dube
  7. Washington Sundar
  8. Nathan Coulter-Nile*
  9. Yuzvendra Chahal
  10. Umesh Yadav
  11. Mohammed Siraj

Needless to say, RCB have a stellar batting lineup. They bat very deep and every batsman right till No.8 has the ability to finish off the game. Their fast-bowling lineup is pretty great too even though they only have two full-time fast bowlers. Washington Sundar and Yuzvendra Chahal form a great leg and off spinning duo. Overall they have a solid lineup. They get – 4/5

Delhi Capitals – Change Of Name, Change Of Game?

Another team that has constantly underperformed and never won the trophy, Delhi Daredevils have now changed their name to Delhi Capitals. Let’s see if this change can help them break the curse. They have a pretty decent team this year, with Shikhar Dhawan leading the batting lineup and Kagiso Rabada heading the bowlers. In Rabada and Lamichanne, they have two exceptional overseas bowlers, while Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer and Prithvi Shaw all will give a glimpse of the talent of Indian youth. Their predicted lineup is –

  1. Shikhar Dhawan
  2. Prithvi Shaw
  3. Shreyas Iyer (c)
  4. Rishabh Pant (wk)
  5. Colin Ingram*
  6. Chris Morris*
  7. Axar Patel
  8. Amit Mishra
  9. Sandeep Lamichanne*
  10. Ishant Sharma
  11. Kagiso Rabada*

Shreyas Iyer was impressive as a captain the last time that he stepped out on the pitch. It will be interesting to see how he handles the team. Last season was a breakthrough one for the young Rishabh Pant. Now he is returning with more maturity to his game, and the ability to play the role of an anchor. Ingram was bought in the auction for a whopping 6.2 crores, so he has to live up to that price tag. Overall, from me they get – 3.5/5


* = Overseas player

(c) = Captain

(wk) = Wicket Keeper